Hoban and McCrystal on longlist for RTÉ Sportsperson of the Year award

Dundalk FC striker Pat Hoban and local cyclist Eve McCrystal have both been included on the longlist for the 2018 RTÉ Sportsperson of the Year award.

In total 23 nominees have been included on the longlist for the coveted award, which will be decided on December 15th.

Eve, from Jenkinstown, is nominated alongside her tandem partner Katie-George Dunlevy. The para-cycling duo confirmed their tremendous form of the last couple of years by defending their World titles in the Women’s B Tandem Road Race & Time Trial in Italy claiming an extraordinary double-double.

Hoban is also nominated after the Dundalk striker broke the all-time Premier Division goalscoring record by registering his 29th league goal of a remarkable season and played a vital role in Dundalk’s League and FAI Cup double winning success.

The full longlist can be found here.

The final shortlist will be announced on Sunday Sport on RTÉ Radio 1 on Sunday December 9th.

Along with the Sportsperson of the Year award the show will also see the Young Sportsperson of the Year, Team of the Year and Manager of the Year honoured as well as a new inductee to the RTÉ Sport Hall of Fame.