17 candidates to contest Midlands-North West constituency for European elections

Seventeen candidates will contest the Midlands-North West constituency, which includes Louth, in the forthcoming European elections.

Nominations closed this afternoon with 59 candidates putting their name forward for the elections across the three constituencies.

The constituency, which stretches from Donegal to Kildare, has four seats up for grabs at the elections on May 24th.

The sitting MEPs who are running again are Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan (Ind), Mairéad McGuinness (FG – pictured above) and Matt Carthy (SF). The other sitting MEP Marian Harkin announced on April 1st that she would not be running to retain her seat.

Fianna Fáil hopes to take advantage of this by running two TDs: Brendan Smith and Anne Rabbitte. But the dynamics of the contest have been changed somewhat by the emergence of presidential runner-up Peter Casey who is running as an independent.

Also running for the constituency seat from this area are Renua’s Michael O’Dowd and Pat Greene of Direct Democracy Ireland, both from Drogheda and Dundalk doctor Dilip Mahapatra, who is running as an independent.

The full list of candidates for Midlands-North West are as follows:

  • Dilip Mahapatra (Non Party)
  • Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan (Non Party)
  • Saoirse McHugh (Green Party)
  • Maira Walsh (Fine Gael)
  • Cyril Brennan (Solidarity-People Before Profit)
  • Peter Casey (Non Party)
  • Mairead McGuinness (Fine Gael)
  • Anne Rabbitte (Fianna Fáil)
  • Brendan Smith (Fianna Fáil)
  • Dominic Hannigan (Labour Party)
  • Patrick Greene (Direct Democracy Ireland)
  • Matt Carthy (Sinn Féin)
  • Fidelma Healy Eames (Non Party)
  • Michael O’Down (Renua)