Retiring councillors honoured by Louth County Council

Louth County Council this morning two long service councillors for their work for the local authority over a combined period of 60 years.

Both Cllr Peter Savage and Cllr Mark Dearey are due to retire from local politics at next month’s Local Elections.

Fianna Fáil representative Savage was first elected to the county council in 1974 while the Green Party’s Dearey has been a local representative since being voted onto the old Dundalk Town Council in 2004.

The pair were presented with moments at this morning’s council meeting by Louth County Council chairman Cllr Liam Reilly and Chief Executive Joan Martin to thank them for their contribution to the county over their respective spells.

Paying tribute to the pair, Cllr John McGahon said: “Louth County Council will be a poorer place after May 24th without their wisdom and contributions.”