Renewed appeal not to erect election posters in 13 towns and villages across Louth

Louth Tidy Towns Together have made a renewed appeal to local and European election candidates not to erect osters within the 50km/h speed limits of 13 towns and villages across the county.

With the build-up to the May 24th elections now underway, the group have released a statement again asking for the co-operation of candidates in not putting up posters in some of the area’s main towns and villages.

They said: “ As the nomination process for the local and European Parliament elections is now under way, Louth Tidy Towns Together is again asking all candidates to voluntarily comply with their request not to erect posters within the 50km/h speed limits of, nor at landscaped approaches to, 13 designated towns and villages in the county.”

A spokesperson for the group explained that there may be some confusion as to what they are requesting following the recent rejection by Councillors of a motion calling for a total ban on posters.

“We are seeking a voluntary commitment to avoid only the designated areas, and feel that this limited restriction on where posters are erected is a reasonable compromise between the need for public engagement with the election process, and the aesthetic and environmental considerations that concern our member groups,” he said.

“We are delighted that so many candidates have already agreed to comply with our voluntary code, and we hope that the others will also do so,” he added.

The 13 towns and villages involved are Annagassan, Ardee, Blackrock, Carlingford, Castlebellingham/Kilsaran, Dromiskin, Dunleer, Knockbridge, Louth Village, Monasterboice/Tinure, Omeath, Stabannon and Tallanstown. The towns of Dundalk and Drogheda are not included.